The Resource We cast a shadow : a novel, Maurice Carlos Ruffin, (electronic resource)

We cast a shadow : a novel, Maurice Carlos Ruffin, (electronic resource)

Label
We cast a shadow : a novel
Title
We cast a shadow
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Maurice Carlos Ruffin
Creator
Contributor
Author
Narrator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
A "brilliant and devastating" (Booklist) debut for fans of Get Out and Paul Beatty's The Sellout, about a father's obsessive quest to protect his son--even if it means turning him white"An incisive and necessary work of satire."--Roxane Gay, author of Bad Feminist "You can be beautiful, even more beautiful than before." This is the seductive promise of Dr. Nzinga's clinic, where anyone can get their lips thinned, their skin bleached, and their nose narrowed. A complete demelanization will liberate you from the confines of being born in a black body--if you can afford it. In this near-future Southern city plagued by fenced-in ghettos and police violence, more and more residents are turning to this experimental medical procedure. Like any father, our narrator just wants the best for his son, Nigel, a biracial boy whose black birthmark is getting bigger by the day. The darker Nigel becomes, the more frightened his father feels. But how far will he go to protect his son? And will he destroy his family in the process? This electrifying, hallucinatory novel is at once a keen satire of surviving racism in America and a profoundly moving family story. At its center is a father who just wants his son to thrive in a broken world. Maurice Carlos Ruffin's work evokes the clear vision of Ralph Ellison, the dizzying menace of Franz Kafka, and the crackling prose of Vladimir Nabokov. We Cast a Shadow fearlessly shines a light on the violence we inherit, and on the desperate things we do for the ones we love.Advance praise for We Cast a Shadow"A full-throated novelistic debut of ferocious power and grace . . . a story that refracts the insanity of the world into a shape so unique you wonder how this book wasn't there all along."--Lit Hub, Most Anticipated Books of 2019"Propulsive . . . We Cast a Shadow proves that the eeriest works of speculative fiction are those that hit closest to home."--Vulture, 37 Books We Can't Wait to Read in 2019"One of the most anticipated debut novels of 2019."--Los Angeles Times, 11 Authors to Watch in 2019"A biting satire of anti-blackness in the US."--Buzzfeed, 66 Books Coming in 2019 That You'll Want to Keep on Your Radar
Accompanying matter
technical information on music
Cataloging source
TEFOD
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Ruffin, Maurice Carlos
Dewey number
813/.6
Form of composition
not applicable
Format of music
not applicable
LC call number
PS3618.U4338
LC item number
W4 2019ab
Literary text for sound recordings
fiction
Music parts
not applicable
PerformerNote
Read by Dion Graham
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Graham, Dion
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • African Americans
  • Fathers and sons
  • Surgery, Plastic
  • Racism
Transposition and arrangement
not applicable
Label
We cast a shadow : a novel, Maurice Carlos Ruffin, (electronic resource)
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
unknown
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1083669661
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource (1 audio file (09 hr., 47 min., 13 sec.))
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9780525637363
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
other
Stock number
A08BE40C-B407-45E9-9769-D2B2AF50FA6E
System control number
  • (Sirsi) o1083669661
  • (OCoLC)1083669661
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable
Label
We cast a shadow : a novel, Maurice Carlos Ruffin, (electronic resource)
Link
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
unknown
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1083669661
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource (1 audio file (09 hr., 47 min., 13 sec.))
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9780525637363
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
other
Stock number
A08BE40C-B407-45E9-9769-D2B2AF50FA6E
System control number
  • (Sirsi) o1083669661
  • (OCoLC)1083669661
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable

Library Locations

  • Administrative HeadquartersBorrow it
    15616 E 24 Highway, Independence, MO, 64055, US
    39.11165 -94.39162
  • Antioch BranchBorrow it
    6060 N. Chestnut Ave., Gladstone, MO, 64119 , US
    39.20389 -94.54657
  • Blue Ridge BranchBorrow it
    9253 Blue Ridge Blvd., Kansas City, MO, 64138 , US
    38.95633 -94.50441
  • Blue Springs North BranchBorrow it
    850 NW Hunter Drive, Blue Springs, MO, 64015, US
    39.050175 -94.273137
  • Blue Springs South BranchBorrow it
    2220 S. 7 Hwy., Blue Springs, MO, 64014, US
    38.99708 -94.27243
  • Boardwalk BranchBorrow it
    8656 N. Ambassador Drive, Kansas City, MO, 64154 , US
    39.25022 -94.65048
  • Buckner BranchBorrow it
    19 E. Jefferson St., Buckner, MO, 64016 , US
    39.13505 -94.19764
  • Camden Point BranchBorrow it
    401 Hardesty St., Camden Point, MO, 64018 , US
    39.4539877 -94.7435047
  • Claycomo BranchBorrow it
    309 NE 69 Hwy., Claycomo, MO, 64119 , US
    39.19939 -94.49869
  • Colbern Road BranchBorrow it
    1000 NE Colbern Road, Lee's Summit, MO, 64086 , US
    38.94685 -94.357025
  • Dearborn BranchBorrow it
    206 Maple Leaf Ave., Dearborn, MO, 64439, US
    39.52162 -94.77132
  • Edgerton BranchBorrow it
    404 Frank St., Edgerton, MO, 64444 , US
    39.505424 -94.632397
  • Excelsior Springs BranchBorrow it
    1460 Kearney Road, Excelsior Springs, MO, 64024 , US
    39.340407 -94.244355
  • Grain Valley BranchBorrow it
    110 Front St., Grain Valley, MO, 64029 , US
    39.015291 -94.199017
  • Grandview BranchBorrow it
    12930 Booth Lane, Grandview, MO, 64030 , US
    38.889325 -94.521551
  • Hillcrest Community Center (Library-To-Go)Borrow it
    10401 Hillcrest Road, Kansas City, MO, 64134, US
    38.935556 -94.520384
  • Kearney BranchBorrow it
    100 S. Platte-Clay Way, Kearney, MO, 64060, US
    39.371212 -94.368181
  • Lee's Summit BranchBorrow it
    150 NW Oldham Pkwy., Lee's Summit, MO, 64081 , US
    38.915628 -94.400799
  • Liberty BranchBorrow it
    1000 Kent St., Liberty, MO, 64068 , US
    39.234827 -94.433348
  • Lone Jack BranchBorrow it
    211 N. Bynum Road, Lone Jack, MO, 64070, US
    38.872371 -94.172528
  • Marlborough Community Center (Library-to-Go)Borrow it
    8200 Paseo Blvd, Kansas City, MO, 64131, US
    38.9789396 -94.5672338
  • Midwest Genealogy CenterBorrow it
    3440 S. Lee's Summit Road, Independence, MO, 64055, US
    39.055851 -94.391098
  • North Independence BranchBorrow it
    317 W. 24 Hwy., Independence, MO, 64050 , US
    39.100794 -94.418828
  • North Oak BranchBorrow it
    8700 N. Oak Street Tfwy., Kansas City, MO, 64155 , US
    39.251581 -94.576666
  • Oak Grove BranchBorrow it
    2320 S. Broadway St., Oak Grove, MO, 64075, US
    38.99155 -94.13043
  • Parkville BranchBorrow it
    8815 Tom Watson Pkwy., Parkville, MO, 64152 , US
    39.2099 -94.68334
  • Platte City BranchBorrow it
    2702 N.W. Prairie View Road, Platte City, MO, 64079, US
    39.348257 -94.758381
  • Platte County Resouce Center (Library-To-Go)Borrow it
    11724 NW Plaza Circle, Kansas City, MO, 64153, US
    39.305988 -94.685134
  • Raytown BranchBorrow it
    6131 Raytown Road, Raytown, MO, 64133, US
    39.010894 -94.462706
  • Red Bridge BranchBorrow it
    11140 Locust St., Kansas City, MO, 64131, US
    38.92449 -94.58647
  • Riverside BranchBorrow it
    2700 N.W. Vivion Road, Riverside, MO, 64150, US
    39.178749 -94.612022
  • Smithville BranchBorrow it
    120 Richardson St., Smithville, MO, 64089, US
    39.373305 -94.582329
  • South Independence BranchBorrow it
    13700 E. 35th St., Independence, MO, 64055 , US
    39.05803 -94.41822
  • Weston BranchBorrow it
    18204 Library Drive, Weston, MO, 64098 , US
    39.421434 -94.895691
  • Woodneath Library CenterBorrow it
    8900 NE Flintlock Road, Kansas City, MO, 64157, US
    39.253636 -94.467911
Processing Feedback ...