Coverart for item
The Resource We cast a shadow, Maurice Carlos Ruffin

We cast a shadow, Maurice Carlos Ruffin

Label
We cast a shadow
Title
We cast a shadow
Statement of responsibility
Maurice Carlos Ruffin
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
In a near-future Southern city, everyone is talking about a new experimental medical procedure that boasts unprecedented success rates. In a society plagued by racism, segregation, and private prisons, this operation saves lives with a controversial method--by turning people white. Like any father, our unnamed narrator just wants the best for his son Nigel, a biracial boy whose black birthmark is getting bigger by the day. But in order to afford Nigel's whiteness operation, our narrator must make partner as one of the few black associates at his law firm, jumping through a series of increasingly absurd hoops--from diversity committees to plantation tours to equality activist groups--in a tragicomic quest to protect his son. This electrifying, suspenseful novel is, at once, a razor-sharp satire of surviving racism in America and a profoundly moving family story. In the tradition of Ralph Ellison's Invisible Man, We Cast a Shadow fearlessly shines a light on the violence we inherit, and on the desperate things we do for the ones we love
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Ruffin, Maurice Carlos
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • African Americans
  • Fathers and sons
  • Surgery, Plastic
  • Racism
Target audience
adult
Label
We cast a shadow, Maurice Carlos Ruffin
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1035437430
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
324 pages
Isbn
9780525509066
Lccn
2018021024
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Note
F Ruffin ; XX-FI ; [B18BP081, #12, 5@27.00, hmh/]
System control number
  • (Sirsi) 1035437430
  • (OCoLC)1035437430
Label
We cast a shadow, Maurice Carlos Ruffin
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1035437430
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
324 pages
Isbn
9780525509066
Lccn
2018021024
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Note
F Ruffin ; XX-FI ; [B18BP081, #12, 5@27.00, hmh/]
System control number
  • (Sirsi) 1035437430
  • (OCoLC)1035437430

Library Locations

    • Claycomo BranchBorrow it
      309 NE 69 Hwy., Claycomo, MO, 64119 , US
      39.19939 -94.49869
    • Dearborn BranchBorrow it
      206 Maple Leaf Ave., Dearborn, MO, 64439, US
      39.52162 -94.77132
    • North Oak BranchBorrow it
      8700 N. Oak Street Tfwy., Kansas City, MO, 64155 , US
      39.251581 -94.576666
    • Raytown BranchBorrow it
      6131 Raytown Road, Raytown, MO, 64133, US
      39.010894 -94.462706
    • Woodneath Library CenterBorrow it
      8900 NE Flintlock Road, Kansas City, MO, 64157, US
      39.253636 -94.467911
Processing Feedback ...